Publishing what I learn

SharePoint and other geekoid tidbits

Clear SharePoint Designer cache (2007)

SharePoint Designer 2007 is pretty flaky and I frequently run into problems where for no logical reason it can’t edit an item. This is usually down to a messed-up cache. I’ve found that simply deleting offending sites from the cache fixes it and with no apparent down-sides – the fact that the sites I work on are on our own LAN probably makes caching less important to me.

However, SP Designer keeps its cache data in more than one place. I can never remember where these are so I created this little batch file that opens up Explorer windows for both cache locations:

explorer "%LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\WebsiteCache"
explorer /e,"%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Web Server Extensions\Cache"

Just run that then delete the entries for the site you’re having problems with (make sure SP Designer is closed first).

Leave a Reply

